Banister, Dallas. “The Mountains.” Lethbridge Herald (16 September 1941): 8.

Dallas Banister Wright (Mrs. William Alberta Wright) is a bit elusive. All we initially knew was that she published a book of poetry, Out of the Mist, in 1980. Based on that date, she didn’t really belong in our project; but as she was born in 1908 and died in 1989, it seemed possible that she did publish something before 1950. So I did a bit of poking around and discovered that she published at least this short poem in the Lethbridge Herald in 1941.

Now, Lethbridge isn’t a teeming metropolis, so the likelihood is that Dallas Banister lived somewhere in southern Alberta. I found her name on the website for the Stockman’s Memorial Foundation, in Cochrane, AB. Then I discovered her in a Bibliography of the Blackfoot, by Hugh Aylmer Dempsey and Lindsay Moir. Curiouser and curiouser. But I am smack in the middle of other work at the moment and must move on…. If anyone knows more about this intriguing poet, can you please let me know? I will set one of our busy and brilliant research assistants on the task soon, but for the moment I remain perplexed.

