Gould, Mona. “A Woman Looks on War.” Outside the Box: The Life and Legacy of Writer Mona Gould, The Grandmother I Thought I Knew. By Maria Meindl. Montreal & Kingston: McGill-Queen’s UP, 2011. 87.

This poem was originally rejected in 1939 by Alvah Beattie, editor of The Montrealer, because it did not support the prevailing social need for solidarity with the war effort. He wrote that Mona might try to publish it in an American magazine, as “Over there, they are trying to keep out of war and your effort would help to sell that idea.” Adding the first two words (“She said,”), Mona published the poem in Gossip magazine in 1969. (Meindl 87)

A Woman Looks on War

She said, I am a woman,
And I am being perfectly honest about this calamitous war,
I resent it!
I know that’s taking the small view,
Not the wide … or as it is sometimes called, the long view,
but that is because I was born a woman
The very fact that I was born a woman
Makes me naturally a possessive person.
The fruit of my womb, for instance,
Is pretty much mine.
And I’m not altogether anxious
To have it become cannon fodder.

